I wish I had taken a picture of this but I didn’t….nonetheless…I thought the result of my leftover concoction was pretty great.  I had planned a little jambalaya for dinner yesterday and looked in the fridge and saw a bunch of leftovers peering at me saying “eat me.”  I bought some mushrooms at the market for .25 and had made some mushroom chicken and had some mushroom gravy.  My jambalaya become of jumble of leftovers…but it actually turned out good.  Because of the mushroom concentration–I thought maybe I’ll make some tater tot casserole.  I had a little leftover hamburger and veggies from the last time I made it.  I added my leftover mushroom chicken and my mushroom gravy.  Sprinkled it with cheese.  Topped it with tots and 30 minutes later Dinner was served!  Amazing.  Leftovers never tasted so good disguised!   How have you recycled your leftovers?

 

Here is the original tatertot casserole recipe and the original mushroom chicken with sour cream sauce recipe:

Tater Tot Casserole

1 lb ground beef/turkey

1 onion, chopped

1/2 cloves minced garlic

salt and pepper to taste

Cook groundbeef/turkey with onions and garlic.  Strain and rinse off excess grease.  Salt and pepper tt (I didn’t add salt/pepper).  Stir in 1 big 16 oz bag mixed veggies.

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 can water (original recipe also calls for 1 can cream of celery soup)

Add soups and water to meat and veggies.  Pour into 9 x13 cass dish.  Sprinkle cheese on top and layer tater tots on top of cheese.

Sam LOVED this which I thought was interesting because he hates all but pizza but said that this was a little better than pizza.  Maybe it was his inclination towards processed foods.  Uggh….at any rate….combining leftovers with the hamburger was good.

Mushroom chicken in sourcream sauce

¼ t salt

¼ t pepper

½ t paprika

¼ t lemon pepper

1 t garlic powder

6 chicken breasts

1 can cream of mushroom

½ C chicken broth

½ lb fresh mushrooms

 

Combine all spices and mix with broth and mushroom soup.  Pour over chicken in crockpot and cook for 2-4 hours until juices run clear in chicken.  Add sourcream about ½ hour before serving.

