Here are a couple of recipes I tried this week that were really yummy.  These aren’t my recipes.  They came from my new “between friends” cookbook–recipes from a bunch of friends here in Kansas City.  I gifted myself this cookbook for Christmas and it keeps on giving!  🙂

Zucchini, corn, and black bean quesadillas

1 T virgin olive oil

1 small red onion

½ jalepeno pepper seeded and minced (left this out)

1 c corn kernels

1 small zucchini finely diced

1 t chili powder

Salt and pepper to taste

1 can black beans drained and rinsed

Fresh cilantro, chopped + extra for garnish

8 tortillas

12 oz pepper jack cheese grated ( I used cheddar)

Sourcream/salsa for serving

1. heat oil and add onion/jalepno until softened. Stir in corn and zucchini. Season with chili powder salt and pepper. Cook until zucchini is tender about 5 minut4es. Stir in the black beans to warm through.

2. Preheat a large skillet or griddle over med heat. Place a tortilla on the skillet and sprinkle with cheese. Spread several spoonfuls of the filling over the cheese. Sprinkle with cilantro. Top with more cheese and a second tortilla. Cook, flipping halfway through, until the tortilla is crisp and golden brown and the cheese has melted. Repeat with the remaining ingred. Slice and serve with sourcream/salsa and garnish with fresh cilantro.

Taco banditos

2 lbs ground beef

1 onion, diced and sautéed

2 small cans tomato sauce

2 cans tomato paste (I used about ½ can—I first halved this recipe than I put in half of the tomato paste…I don’t really love tomato paste)

3 C water

1 t oregano

2 t salt

2 t chili pwder

2 t cumin

2 T sugar

Simmer 40 min. Serve over corn chips with 2 c cooked rice

2 cans black beans (heated), lettuce, tomatoes, sliced olives, shredded cheese, sour cream, and guacamole.

