I got to get up @ 5 am this morning with the child–the baby who usually sleeps until at least 7.  Not happy about this.  Sleep–or the lack thereof is probably the single most influential factor in determining our family size (crying is a close 2nd–I’m getting to old to play the guessing game of why baby is crying!).  We’ve definitely had our share of sleepless nights.  No matter how many I have, I don’t seem to like them any better.

Growing up, I don’t think we really had an established routine with an early bedtime.  We all just tried to be in bed by 10 pm.  I’m not saying that was the wrong thing to do.  But, because we didn’t have a schedule, I was pretty much clueless when I was expected to plan one for my child.  One of my college nursing instructors recommended Dr. Marc Weissbluth’s book “Healthy Sleep Habits-happy child”  to help address my ignorance in this matter.  This book was so helpful to me.

Despite a great number of sleepless nights, all of our kids have become great sleepers and still (even with the oldest at age 8) require nearly 12 hours of sleep every night.  This is how I’ve been able to manage all of these years.  If one knows  that after 7 pm–there is generally solitude-it’s easier to press forward and make it to the end of the day.

Although my precious sleep was stolen from me by my little thief in the night-I’m hopeful that he too will follow the path of his siblings and become a great sleeper.  If you are trying to get your baby on a schedule or you are tired of being tired–given that your tiredness comes from babies not sleeping-check out this  book.  It’s great!  I love that Dr Weissbluth is an MD and played a very active role as a parent.  The book goes from month to month and explains what these little guys are physiologically capable of–sleepwise and what to expect as far as their natural sleep rhythms developing (at what age etc)–how to sleep train.  I really love this book and am a firm believer that if mommies particularly and children have healthy sleep habits-everyone’s happier!

