I’ve mentioned several times in my menus that I’m making something from the freezer.  While in AZ, a friend of mine recommended this book:  http://www.amazon.com/Once—Month-Cooking-Family-Favorites/dp/0312534043/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1315358804&sr=1-2

She cooked once or twice a month and added sides to complement her dishes the rest of the month.  What a fantastic idea!  Less cleanup!  Less stress when it’s dinner time and one doesn’t know what to eat! 

I don’t cook just once a month but I love the idea and have tried very hard to bulk cook-to cook 3-4 meals at one sitting and throw the rest in the fridge/freezer for later or double a recipe to have another easy meal later in the month.  It’s helped a lot. 

Mondays are a catchup day around here.  So that is when I use the pre-cooked meal.  Saturdays-I’m lazy so sometimes we utilize the fruits of earlier labor too. 

It’s been interesting to see what freezes well and what doesn’t.  This also applies to groceries in general.  Shredded cheese freezes well.  Block cheese doesn’t.  Lasagna freezes well but anything with milk/cream of in it doesn’t so much.  Cherry pie filling freezes well as does pie crust (easy dessert).  Roll dough does too!  It’s kind of an experimental thing. 

I guess the secret is figuring out what dirty work can be done before hand in your favorite family recipes and leaving the rest to do when throwing it together.  It really does make life a lot more simple!

